Literary Immersion Therapy: Part 2

Let’s see if I can spit out the rest of this in one post…

1) LitQuake. You heard about this already so find one in your area or hit up another festival like it.

2) Local Independent Bookstores.

I can’t stress how much I value my local independent bookstores. Check out your local independent book retailers and if you’re in the San Francisco Bay Area, check out some of my favorites. If I’ve missed some, please send me your local favorites!

Kepler’s is my “home bookstore,” I could live at Kepler’s Books. Not only have I heard everyone from Berkeley Breathed to Joyce Carol Oates at Kepler’s, I have also had the opportunity to participate in free workshops from publishing insiders like Alan Rinzler. So visit your local indie bookstore, see what events they have coming up, and buy something.

My other San Francisco Bay Area favorites: Book Passage (Corte Madera), The Booksmith (San Francisco), and City Lights Book Sellers and Publishers (San Francisco).  Of course, if you ever find yourself in New York: The Strand.

Also, if you’re in the San Francisco Bay Area, you can never go wrong with The Rumpus. Great columns, lively emails, and out of control events.

3) Readings and Interviews at your local community college or university. Check these websites if you’re in the area: UC Berkeley or Stanford. Mentioning these rivals in the same sentence is all kinds of wrong, but there it is.

4) Take workshop classes at your local community college or university. Workshops are also available online and in your community through other organizations.

5) Once you’ve connected to your literary community, start or join a writer’s group.

These last two will be the topic of many upcoming posts, which is why I have left them short. You’ve already heard a little about my workshop experience, but there is much more to come.

Best,

Leave a Reply

