Back to the Blogosphere

In 2009, I launched this blog just after beginning work on my first writing project. I was immediately stymied by a simple question: What do I have to offer? Would it exist with the sole purpose of telling you about my book? Would I talk about my writing process? My research process? Would it devolve into what I had for breakfast or the current contents of my workout playlist? This perceived need for absolute focus crippled my motivation to post, as evidenced by the handful (and that’s putting it generously) that have popped up over these last two years.

Finally it occurred to me that I was over-thinking things. I was letting the cerebral scientist in me run the show, not the creative writer. So I’ll leave out the oatmeal and the tunes, but the rest of it is in: writing process, research process, connecting with the lit community, workshops, and yes, the occasional story. I promise to tag religiously.

It’s been a year and a half since I shoved everything but writing into the background and there’s a lot to tell, things I would have wanted to know when I first began. So if you’re an aspiring writer wondering how a scientist got started, this is the blog for you. If you want to read about a non-MFA writer stumbling her way through the query process, you’re in the right place. If you just want a good laugh worry not, I often end up embarrassing myself. If you want to know more about my project, stay tuned.

Cheers, Melissa

Leave a Reply

