The beginning…

Welcome to my blog.  This year, on June 5th, I began writing a memoir.  I am not a writer by training but rather a scientist, cognitive neuroscientist to be exact.  I write about subcortical structures, genetics, and behavior and how they relate to neurodevelopment and disorders.  This book has nothing to do with those things. <Insert massive sigh of relief from readers here>  If I haven’t bored you to tears just yet read on, it gets more interesting I promise…

The night I began writing it was as if lightening struck and suddenly the idea for a book that had been rolling around in the back of my head was electrified.  It sounds too dramatic to be true but in fact it is.  There was actually a Eureka! moment in which I realized I had to give this a shot if not to publish the work than to at least get it out of my head.  It was such an immediate need that I started typing that night just after 1AM and have scarcely slowed down since.

To date I have made my way through about a third of it, much of which still needs to be edited down, but a good start to what is sure to be a crazy but interesting adventure.  This initial wave of material spilled out in coffee shops (many of which are pictured above) within the first month and a half or so, at what one could say was breakneck pace.  More precisely at break elbow pace, as it happened.   No comment.

After trying to type one handed with nearly nonexistent accuracy I decided that the right side of my brain was controlling my left hand and that all the letters from the left side of my brain (that controlled my useless right hand) weren’t making it to the page.  Defeat!

Ah, but now I see the light at the end of the tunnel and hope to be back to my little table by the window by the end of the week.  A return to early mornings and late nights attending to my secret project.

As to the scope of what is sure to be a wildly meandering menagerie of thoughts…this blog is meant to convey my convoluted writing process, the ups and downs and in-betweens.  However, I am open to it’s natural evolution and anything that develops beyond my initial intentions.

I’ll be posting a blurb about the book soon, check back or follow me on Twitter for the latest updates!

-The Snarky Lark

Leave a Reply

